• Connect with Tiny Leaf

  • Deals from Tiny Leaf

    Diapers.com discounts
    Home Essentials
    use code: JESS1371
    Buy Baby Items at Diapers.com
    Not valid for existing Diapers.com, Soap.com or BeautyBar.com customers. Some restrictions apply.
    Diapers.com

Sunday Morning Breakfast

I really love Sunday morning breakfast with the family. Like many families, Sunday is our quiet, lazy day. I try to do something special for breakfast while we’re all preparing to enjoy the last few hours of our weekend.

I usually make pancakes, omelets or another big breakfast. Lately though, A. and I have both really been digging bagels. There is a great bagel shop in our neighborhood that has the most amazing bagels and delicious cream cheeses – flavors like cheddar horseradish, parmesan artichoke and shitake rosemary.

Inspired by these amazing, savory flavors, I whipped up my own version that marries my love of bagels and one of my most favorite holiday season treats, pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin pie cream cheese

Pumpkin Pie Cream Cheese

Cream cheese, 8 oz., softened

Pumpkin puree, 1 cup

Ground ginger, 1/8 teaspoon

Ground nutmeg, 1/8 teaspoon

Ground cinnamon, ½ teaspoon

Ground cloves, ¼ teaspoon

Add all ingredients to a medium bowl. Use a hand mixer to blend on low for two minutes. Transfer to a serving dish and spread on warm bagels.

This version comes out smooth and whipped, but a few minutes in the fridge and a little less pumpkin would give it a more traditional cream cheese texture. To make it a bit healthier, you can use low-fat cream cheese; you won’t even notice a difference.

I love this recipe because it is so simple, but still feels like a special Sunday breakfast treat. Plus, it’s better than actually eating pumpkin pie for breakfast. (Something I may have been known to do this time of year…)

Comments are closed.
